Our new Honorary presidents

The European Movement in Scotland is delighted to welcome its new Honorary Presidents: Michael Russell and John Purvis.

Michael Russell, a former SNP MSP and Scottish Government Cabinet Secretary for Constitution, Europe and External Affairs, is a committed pro-European. He was a Vice President of EMiS until he stepped down from the Scottish Parliament at the elections in May.

As Cabinet Secretary he championed Scotland’s EU interests in the face of a damaging Brexit that a strong majority of the Scottish electorate voted against. On accepting the Presidency of EMiS at its AGM this week, Michael Russell reaffirmed his view that Scotland’s, and indeed the UK’s, best future is as a full member of the European Union.

John Purvis CBE was a Conservative MEP for 15 years (1979-84/1999-2009) and has been actively engaged in the campaign against Brexit as an EMiS Committee member and as Chair of Fife for Europe.

EMiS’s current Vice-Presidents are Sarah Boyack, Labour MSP, Patrick Harvie MSP, Co-leader of the Scottish Greens and a Scottish Government Minister, and Willie Rennie, Liberal Democrat MSP. Ming Campbell (Lord Campbell of Pittenweem) stepped down as sole Hon President at our agm after

The European Movement in Scotland is a cross-party membership organisation which promotes strong relations with the rest of Europe and campaigns for Scotland to rejoin the EU, whether as part of the UK or as an independent country.  EMiS is part of the European Movement International, a citizens’ organisation, founded in 1948, that works for co-operation between European nations.