About Us . . .

As part of the European Movement UK, the European Movement in Scotland (technically, the Scottish Council of the European Movement UK) is largely autonomous and is governed by an Executive Committee elected at an Annual General Meeting which usually takes place in November of each year.

We are an independent, not-for-profit, non-party, non-governmental organization, funded exclusively by our members. We receive no funding from any political party, from the UK or Scottish Governments.

Although the Movement in Scotland shares the same overall aims and objectives as the UK Movement, it is particularly concerned with the interests of Scotland as a constituent part of Europe.

We believe in a strong and united Europe. We also believe that in Scotland there is a great reservoir of goodwill towards Europe. The European Movement in Scotland aims to mobilize this goodwill and to counter Eurosceptic misinformation by working to make the pro-European voice heard in the media and in government.

If you are as appalled, as we are, by the continuous deluge of half-truths and misinformation served up by the Eurosceptic press and political parties come and support us!  Join our mailing list, or better still, come and join us.

Who's Who


The Rt Hon. the Lord Campbell of Pittenweem CH CBE QC


Kezia Dugdale MSP, Patrick Harvie MSP, Willie Rennie MSP, Michael Russell MSP, Struan Stevenson MEP.


Dr Winnie Ewing, Baron McConnell of Glenscorrodale, Rt Hon Sir Malcolm Rifkind KCMG, QC, Rt Hon Lord Wallace of Tankerness PC QC.

The Committee

Chairman: Vanessa Glynn

Vice Chairman: David Clarke

Secretary: Sally Kramers

Treasurer: Bill Rodger

Membership: Ken Robertson

Policy Adviser: Alex Orr

Executive Committee Members: Elspeth Attwooll, David Brew, David Gow, Derek Hammersley, Anne Kerr, Helen Millar, Iain G Mitchell QC, John Purvis.

Website: Janet Hammersley


A copy of our constitution can be downloaded here.